You are:

Print and Share

Research Excellence Awards

These Awards recognise achievement and celebrate outstanding contributions to research in the fields of optometry, optics and vision science. All Award winners to date are listed on the individual Award page. 

The deadline for nominations and applications for the below Awards in 2016 has now passed. The winners will be announced in due course.

  • The Arthur Bennett Prize (nomination only)
    For outstanding research undertaken anywhere in the world and with a bursary of £5,000.
  • The Neil Charman Medal for Research (nomination or application)
    The College's annual Award for outstanding research by a College member, the Medal is to honour excellent research at a level above postgraduate and comes with a bursary of £1,000.
  • The George Giles Postgraduate Research Prize (nomination or application)
    For outstanding postgraduate research by College members, we welcome nominations or applications from all PhD or Masters research projects. The Prize includes a bursary of £500.
  • The President's Research Medal (nomination only)
    This award is for outstanding contribution to research and recognises a lifetime's career in optometric/vision science research.  The medal is awarded every four years and has a bursary of £10,000.

    The inaugural winner of the award is Professor Larry Thibos, who gave a lecture and accepted the Medal in February 2014.

    The following Award is available every year, chosen by the OPO Editorial Board.

  • The Bernard Gilmartin OPO Award (chosen by the OPO Editorial Board)
    This Award is given annually to a highly regarded paper published in Ophthalmic and Physiological Optics in the preceding five years.

If you have any questions please contact Martin Cordiner by email or on 020 7766 4346.

2011 RE Award, winners group photo

Neil Charman Medal

2012 REA Winners Group Photo