10 December 2019

The College of Optometrists announce Council member election results

The College of Optometrists has announced the names of its newest Council members.

Clare Pearce MCOptom and Grant Robinson MCOptom have been elected as College Council members for Wales, Hassnain Safdar MCOptom will represent members in the East Midlands, Meera Shah will represent members in London, Prof Robert Harper FCOptom will represent the North West region and Prof Kathryn Saunders FCOptom will represent Northern Ireland.

The election process also saw six existing Council members re-elected: 

  • Tony Gibson MCOptom for the North East region
  • Laura E Sweeney MCOptom to represent Scotland
  • Lucy Blown MCOptom and Eddie Pigott MCOptom to represent the South East
  • Shamina Asif MCOptom for the West Midlands region
  • Barbara Watson FCOptom for the Yorkshire and Humber region.

New Council member for the East Midlands, Hassnain Safdar MCOptom, said: “I am honoured to have been elected as a College Council member. I’m looking forward to making a real difference to the optometric profession by working with the College and councillors to ensure that all members are heard.”

Prof Edward Mallen MCOptom, President of The College of Optometrists, said: “I would like to congratulate all the successful candidates and I look forward to welcoming them to the College Council. Our Council sets the strategic and professional direction of the College and as we’re developing the College’s new strategic plan this year, it’s more important than ever to have connected and engaged members that will bring the views of our members from their region.

“I would also like to warmly thank and recognise all the outgoing Council members for their enormous contribution and work, namely Geraint Griffiths MCOptom, Russell Dawkins MCOptom, Ian White MCOptom, Lisa O'Donoghue MCOptom, Mary-Ann Sherratt MCOptom, and Angharad Hobby MCOptom.”
Membership of the College’s Council gives members and fellows the opportunity to represent colleagues, promote the profession and help shape the future of optometry. The new Council members will begin their terms after The College of Optometrists’ AGM, on 24 February 2020, as part of the annual conference, Optometry Tomorrow. 

Members can contact their regional Council member via the College website.


Notes to Editors

  1. The College is the professional body for optometry. We qualify the profession and deliver the guidance and training to ensure optometrists provide the best possible care. We promote excellence through the College’s affixes, by building the evidence base for optometry, and raising awareness of the profession with the public, commissioners, and health care professionals.