How the CCEHC works

The Clinical Council for Eye Health Commissioning (CCEHC) represents the leading clinical professions and charity organisations in the eye-care sector in England.

Share options

The Clinical Council for Eye Health Commissioning (CCEHC) is an independent advisory body providing evidence-based national clinical leadership, advice and guidance to policy makers in health, social care and public health, and those commissioning and providing eye health services in England. It is recognised as such through a Memorandum of Understanding with NHS England. The CCEHC’s recommendations are provided in the best interest of patients, on the best evidence available and independent of any professional or commercial interests.

The College of Optometrists currently holds joint-secretariat of the CCEHC with the Royal College of Ophthalmologists. 

As reflected by its membership, the CCEHC represents the leading clinical professions, social care, charity and voluntary organisations within the eye health and care sector. 


The Council consists of the following organisations/sector: 

  • Association of British Dispensing Opticians 
  • Association of Directors of Adult Social Services 
  • British and Irish Orthoptic Society
  • College of Optometrists
  • Faculty of Public Health 
  • International Glaucoma Association 
  • Macular Society 
  • Optical Confederation (including Local Optical Committee Support Unit) 
  • Royal College of General Practitioners  
  • Royal College of Nursing (Ophthalmic Section) 
  • Royal College of Ophthalmologists 
  • Royal National Institute of Blind People 


The CCEHC is chaired by Miss Parul Desai, Consultant in Public Health & Ophthalmology at Moorfields Eye Hospital, and Dr David Parkins, Chair of the London Eye Health Network, is Vice Chair.

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and the College of Optometrists provide the secretariat for the CCEHC. 


Members of the CCEHC are representatives of the body or sector which nominates them and are accountable to that body/sector. 


Primary contact:
Olivier Denève
Head of Policy and Public Affairs
College of Optometrists
T: 020 7766 4383
Secondary contact:
Jo Longden
Executive Assistant to the President and Chief Executive
The Royal College of Ophthalmologists 
T: 020 3770 5351